Satellite photo of Mayotte

    Located 30 km of Anjouan in the Comoros Islands (Indian Ocean), Mayotte is formed by 2 main islands, Grande Terre (Big Earth, to the left) and Petite Terre (Small Earth, Pamanzi). Mayotte is encircled by a vaste lagoon sheltering a hundred of coral islets. Its inhabitants, the Mahorais, chose by referendum the unification with France, becoming an overseas group, and an overseas department in 2011.

Other islands in the Indian Ocean : Mayotte  The Comoros  Réunion