American Samoa from the sky

    American Samoa depends on the United States since the partition of the Samoan Islands in 1899. To the left lies the biggest island, Tutuila, and more to the right the islands Manua, Ofu-Olosaga and Ta' u. Much more to the North, the small Swains island (less than 2 km2) is a geographic part of the Tokelau archipelago which claims it.

On December 9th, 1787, the vessels of Count de Lapérouse approached these islands, called since 1768 Navigators Islands. The Samoan attacked the Astrolabe whose commander De Langle as well as the naturalist Lamanon and 9 sailors were killed.

Other Oceania islands : Fidji  Hawaii  Cocos Islands  Tonga  Easter Island  Wallis and Futuna  Samoan Islands  Marquesas Islands  New Caledonia  Society Islands