Satellite photo of Samoa

    Here are the 2 biggest islands of Samoa, Savai' i and Upolu. With 7 other islets, they constitute a Polynesian state, independent since 1962. Before 1997, these islands were called Western Samoa, in contrast with American Samoa , unincorporated territory of the United States located to the east in the Pacific Ocean. On September 29th, 2009, Samoa have lived an earthquake followed by a destuctive tsunami.

Other Oceania islands : Fidji  Hawaii  Cocos Islands  Tonga  Easter Island  Wallis and Futuna  Samoan Islands  Marquesas Islands  New Caledonia  Society Islands